Customer Cancel/reschedule policy

Take full control over your Customer’s cancellation and reschedule experience by setting up policies that suit your needs.

ScheduleOnce allows you to set up independent reschedule and cancellation policies that are fully configurable. The policies allow you to specify the exact rules for when customers are allowed to reschedule or cancel. You can customize the policy description presented to customers and choose whether customers will be requested to provide a reason upon rescheduling or canceling. You can define different policies for different scheduling scenarios.

The policy you define is displayed in a clear and concise manner on the Customer Cancel/reschedule page, providing your customers with full policy visibility and enabling them to make an informed decision before they proceed with the cancel/reschedule action.

The set up involved in configuring the Customer’s Cancel/reschedule policies is simple and straightforward. The location of the cancel/reschedule section within the app and the options available to you change depending on whether you are using Booking pages with or without Services:

Booking pages without Services

When using Booking pages without Services, the Cancellation and Reschedule policies are set at the Booking page level under the Cancel/Reschedule section. Learn more about the Cancel/reschedule section

This section allows you to define when cancellations and reschedules can be made by your Customers. With the three options of Anytime, Up until, and Never, you are given complete control over how lenient or how stringent you wish your policy to be. You also have full access to customize the policy description presented to your Customers and to decide whether your Customers will be requested to provide a cancel/reschedule reason.

Booking pages with Services

If you have linked your Booking page to at least one Service, the Cancellation and Reschedule policies are set at the Service level under the Payment and Cancel/Reschedule section. Learn more about the payment and cancel/reschedule section

The cancellation/reschedule policies in Services are configured together with payments. This means that in the Payment and Cancel/Reschedule section you can specify the timeframe during which Customer are permitted to cancel of reschedule a booking, as well as define the monetary penalties that Customers will face upon canceling or rescheduling.

Depending on which Payment option you pick, the ability to set up policies with monetary penalties and automatically handle refunds and rescheduling fees changes:

  1. Do not display a price: This option only allows you to set the timeframe during which Customers can cancel or reschedule. This option does not allow you to set up monetary penalties within your cancellation and reschedule policies. Learn more about the cancel/reschedule policies when a price is not displayed

  2. Display a price but do not collect payment via ScheduleOnce: This option allows you to set the timeframe during which Customers can cancel or reschedule, as well as define the monetary penalties that Customers will face when cancelling or rescheduling. However, since with this option you are only displaying a price but are not collecting payments via ScheduleOnce, refunds and rescheduling fees can only be defined in text in the description policy, but cannot be enforced in ScheduleOnce. In other words, with this option you are in charge of processing the rescheduling fees and refunds. Learn more about the cancel/reschedule policies when a price is displayed

  3. Display a price and collect payment via ScheduleOnce: This options allows you to set the timeframe during which Customers can cancel or reschedule, as well as define and enforce the monetary penalties that Customers will face when cancelling or rescheduling. Since with this option your ScheduleOnce account is connected to PayPal, the handling of refunds and rescheduling fees can be completely automated allowing you to streamline your payments throughout the booking lifecycle. If you prefer, you are still free to choose to manually process refunds, it is all within your control. Learn more about the cancel/reschedule policies when collecting payment via ScheduleOnce

Learn more about cancelling and rescheduling through ScheduleOnce:

Rate this article