Cancel and reschedule in a nutshell

Cancellation and rescheduling are important aspects of the booking lifecycle, often involving updating of various integrations, like your connected calendar, CRM, Zapier, Web conferencing integration, and Payment integration. Notifications and reminders are also updated, so that both you and your Customer are up to date with the latest meeting information.
This article outlines which cancellation and rescheduling options are available to you (the User) and to your Customer, either through ScheduleOnce or through other methods.

 

Cancel or reschedule by the Customer

Your Customers can cancel and reschedule their meetings with you themselves, subject to your cancel/reschedule policy. The best way for them to do so is to click the Cancel/reschedule link in any calendar event or email notification or reminder that they received for that meeting. The process is easy and friendly, and may involve a fee according to your policy if you are using Payment integration. Learn more about the Cancel/reschedule section and policy, with and without payment:
Some Customers may contact you, asking you to cancel or reschedule on their behalf. They might approach you because they are offline, or maybe your policy does not allow to cancel or reschedule at that time, or any other reason. Should you choose to cancel or reschedule on behalf of your Customer – please see next two sections.

 

Reschedule by the User

As the User, you are the organizer of the event, and the owner of the calendar event. You are not subject to any cancel/reschedule policy. There are two methods to reschedule:
  1. Sign into your ScheduleOnce account, find the booking in the activity stream on the home page, and click “cancel/request reschedule” button. Your Customer will receive a reschedule request, explaining why the meeting needs to be rescheduled, and asking them to reschedule the meeting themselves. There are some differences between rescheduling without Services, and rescheduling with Services.
  2. If your account is integrated with Google Calendar or PC connector for Outlook, you can reschedule directly in your connected Google Calendar or your connected Outlook Calendar. When rescheduling a booking, you are always rescheduling on behalf of your Customer. Therefore it's best to coordinate the change of time with your Customer.
Learn more about the effects of rescheduling

 

Cancellation by the User

You are not subject to any cancel/reschedule policy. However, if you need to cancel a Customer’s booking, we recommend communicating with them about the cancellation circumstances. There are two methods to cancel:
  1. Sign into your ScheduleOnce account, find the booking in the activity stream on the home page, and click “cancel/request reschedule” button. Select “cancel” in the wizard and complete the process.
  2. If your account is integrated with Google Calendar or PC connector for Outlook, you can cancel directly in your connected Google Calendar or your connected Outlook Calendar, simply by deleting the event from your calendar.
Learn more about the effects of cancellation

 

Booking requests

When working in Booking with approval mode, the booking lifecycle has two distinctive parts:
  1. The Customer sent a booking request and it wasn’t approved yet. During this phase the Customer can cancel the booking request or resubmit (modify) the request, not subject to cancel/reschedule policy. As the User you can also cancel the Customer’s request and request new times.
  2. After the Customer’s booking request was approved by the User, it becomes a standard calendar event. From that moment on, it is subject to any of the actions described in the previous sections, both by the Customer and by the User.

Rate this article